Here today, gone tomorrow…

hydrantplay-aved-1988-copy

So by now, I think we’ve all realised that life is better in the summer.  The sun is out for longer, people seem to be happier and, most importantly, there’s an excuse to get full up on ice cream.  I’d like to commemorate the summer, after all, like many things in life that we take for granted, it’s here today, gone tomorrow.  At least this way, I’ll have some nostalgia to help me sleep whilst the sun takes longer power-naps.

To help me maintain this fantasy, I’m listing (some sort of) a top ten summer chart of videos. This isn’t just a list of songs that came out in June – August.  These are songs that can lead you into a false sense of security if you played them whilst snow fell from the sky submerged in the winter or rainy months, depending on your country of choice.  いきましょう‼/Let’s Go!

1. Kuroisoul & Kinetik – London Mornings feat. Tone Richardson
This one has to go straight in at number one because it’s my ringtone at the moment. If I hear this one in the club, you know what dance I’ll be doing (see 3:26)!

2. Big Pun – 100% feat. Tony Sunshine
One of the first songs I thought of.  I remember failing miserably to sing along to the Spanish bit.  I can’t remember when some of these songs actually came out but there’s a beach and palm trees in this video so it counts!
Big Pun – 100 Percent by dafsoul

3. Junior M.A.F.I.A. – Get Money
I’m actually refusing to explain why this one made the list :P.

4. Andre 3000 – Prototype
I don’t remember calling this a list of Hip-Hop songs.  Have I cheated?  Does the fact that it’s ‘Dre make it Hip-Hop anyway?  Anyway…

5. Dr. Dre – Keep Their Heads Ringing
Part. 1 of the book: ‘If Only I Owned a Cadillac…’

6. DJ Quik & Kurupt – Do You Know
The sequel: ‘I’d Make Sure the Service Covered the Hydraulics…’

7. Jazzy Jeff and The Fresh Prince – Summertime
You knew it was coming, I just couldn’t be cheesy enough to put it at the beginning or end of the list.  Rolling around in the sun, real slow; nuff said.

8. Jamiroquai – Seven Days in Sunny June
Blue Sky?  Check√  June?  Check√  Swimming Pool?  Check√  BBQ?  Check√  Park?  Check√  Nice hook?  Check√  Helicopter  Umm…√  Hovercraft?…  Ok, I’ll stop now.

9. LL Cool J – Around the Way Girl
Surely, no list would be complete without a “Shortly, you’re looking fly, lemee holla at you real quick” song.  LL had those in the bag in his prime.  Maybe I’ll drop those ‘London Mornings’ skanks to this in double time.

10. Tupac – Keep Your Head Up
Lastly, but by no means least, I must end the list with this.  There were a few Tupac songs I could have chosen but I vowed to keep it to 10.  To me, the amazing thing about this song is the level of social consciousness in it.  I don’t know why I relate it to the summer, I just do.  I don’t mind that I don’t know either.

Now I have a confession to make.  This post was not for nothing.  How subtly can I put it?

Honourable mention: Jaunty – Summer Night Suite
OUT NOW!!!

So what do you think of my list?  Did I miss some obvious ones?  What about your personal favourites?  Let me know in the comments section below.

R.I.P. to all the fallen ones listed above.

This entry was posted in music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Here today, gone tomorrow…

  1. Devinia says:

    Loved this post, but annoyed you didn’t include my songs :(. Hateration!!

  2. Reblogged this on howtobeaslimgirlnot and commented:
    LIsten to the best summer jams!

Leave a Reply

